This topic describes how to delete a zone from a cluster. This operation removes all OBServer nodes and data on the current zone from the OceanBase cluster and releases the host. Proceed with caution.
Background information
- If the number of zones in a cluster is even, it cannot meet high availability requirements for data, posing a data security risk. We recommend that you adjust the configuration to maintain an odd number of zones or enable the arbitration service for the cluster or tenant.
- When a cluster is changed to single-zone multi-host mode, it only expands the computing capability of the OceanBase service and does not provide high availability through multiple replicas. It is suitable for development and test environments.
- When a cluster is changed to single-zone single-host mode, there is only one data replica, which does not support multiple replicas or scaling. Data loss may occur in case of storage or hardware failure. We recommend that you perform regular backups for important business systems or configure high availability solutions, such as primary/standby tenants or multi-replica disaster recovery, to avoid single points of failure.
Prerequisites
Ensure the current OCP user has the following permissions:
- Cluster Maintenance resource permissions.
- Permission to access the cluster Overview menu.
Your OceanBase cluster is managed by the current OCP.
If it is not, you can refer to Take over a cluster to take over your OceanBase cluster to the current OCP.
Deleting a zone is not supported for a single-node cluster.
Ensure the zone to be deleted does not host the primary replica of any tenant. If it does, ensure the tenant has another full-featured replica available. Otherwise, deleting this zone will cause business interruption that cannot be recovered.
Procedure
Log in to OCP.
In the left navigation bar, click Cluster. The system goes to the Clusters tab by default.
On the Clusters page, select the target cluster and click its name.
On the cluster Overview page, in the Zones section, click More > Delete in the Actions column.
A confirmation dialog box appears.
In the dialog box, click Delete.
You can view the deletion progress via the View Tasks button in the dialog box, or check the progress of this task in Task Center.
The deletion is successful when the task status is Complete and the zone no longer appears in the Zones on the cluster Overview page.
